Khury Petersen-Smith

From KeyWiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Khury Petersen-Smith is the Michael Ratner Middle East Fellow at Institute for Policy Studies. He researches U.S. empire, borders, and migration. Khury graduated from the Clark University Graduate School of Geography in Massachusetts, after completing a dissertation that focused on militarization and sovereignty.[1]

Racial Justice Has No Borders Town Hall

This coalition puts a focus on diaspora, refugee, veteran, Black, Brown, and Indigenous communities who bear the brunt of this country’s militarism to challenge the myth that more police, wars, and weapons have made any of us safer or more secure. In the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is imperative that we forge new avenues for global solidarity that can lead to real and lasting peace and security. On April 6, at 3 p.m. EST / 2 p.m. CST / 1 p.m. MST / 12 p.m. PST (the eve of the Wisconsin Democratic Primary), the coalition will host a virtual town hall examining U.S. military policy, defense spending, the ongoing 'War on Terror,’ and militarization at home.

Moderated by Marc Lamont Hill, the Town Hall will launch a shared campaign demanding the immediate end to the 2001 Authorization for the Use of Military Force (AUMF) that has been the pillar of escalated U.S. military intervention under the banner of the War on Terror.

Participants

92222297 1904053579726446 697954845847453696 o2020.png

ISO/Palestine

In 2016 Khury Petersen-Smith was a member of the International Socialist Organization who lived in Boston. He has written about Black and Palestinian liberation and US empire for Socialist Worker and the International Socialist Review. He co-authored the “Black Statement of Solidarity With Palestine” in 2015, which was signed by over 1,100 Black activists, artists, and scholars.[2]

Black Solidarity With Palestine

Zxcvbhcccccccc.PNG

Tufts Students for Justice in Palestine was live. April 8 2019·

Happening now: Black Solidarity With Palestine, Noura Erakat and Dr. Khury Petersen-Smith

Editorial and production staff

Socialist Worker Editorial and production staff 2019 Dorian Bon, Nicole Colson, Danny Katch, Eric Kerl, Alan Maass, Khury Petersen-Smith, Eric Ruder and Elizabeth Schulte.

Socialism 2018

Socialism Conference 2018 Logo

Khury Petersen-Smith was a speaker at Socialism 2018, an annual socialist gathering sponsored by the International Socialist Organization held in Chicago, Illinois in July 2018.[3] Go to the main page of ISO Socialism Conference...

Spoke at Socialism 2016 Conference

Some of our Speakers at Socialism 2016 included:

External Links

References